British Mathematical Olympiad

News: Balkan Mathematical Olympiad results and revised IMO squad (30 April 2006)

The UK team in the Balkan Mathematical Olympiad in Cyprus have achieved the following scores (out of 40).

Jos Gibbons14Bronze
Tim Hennock1
Jonathan Lee12Bronze
Daniel Lightwing16Bronze
Julia Robson2
Dominic Rowland6

The Team Leader at the Balkan Mathematical Olympiad is Richard Atkins of Oundle School, UK IMO Deputy Leader from 1999 to 2003, and the Deputy Leader is Dr Ian Jackson of Tonbridge School, UK IMO silver medallist in 1981.

In the light of his performance in the Balkan Mathematical Olympiad, Daniel has been added to the squad of eight from which the team of six and two reserves for the IMO in Ljubljana, Slovenia will be selected:

Tom EcclesSt. Paul’s School, London
Jos GibbonsKing Edward VI Camp Hill Boys’ School
Saul GlasmanThe Latymer School, Edmonton, London
Jonathan LeeLoughborough Grammar School
Daniel LightwingYork College
Imdad SardharwallaKing Edward VI Grammar School, Chelmsford
Jack ShottonPortsmouth Grammar School
Lee ZhaoNottingham High School

(Two of the eight students originally selected after the training camp held at Trinity College, Cambridge from 6–10 April 2006 had withdrawn in order to represent the UK in the Chemistry and Physics Olympiads.)

The IMO Team Leader is Dr Geoff Smith of the University of Bath and the Deputy Leader is Dr Ceri Fiddes of Millfield School. The IMO will take place from 6–18 July.

Previous news item: IMO squad selected (11 April 2006, revised 14–18 April 2006).

Next news item: Balkan Mathematical Olympiad detailed results (4 May 2006).