British Mathematical Olympiad Subtrust

Coming events:
4–9 April: Trinity camp
(see full calendar for more)

Welcome to the British Mathematical Olympiad

(26 February 2018)

The UK participants in the Romanian Master of Mathematics competition have achieved the following results, coming equal 7th out of 20 teams in the team competition. The medal boundaries are 29 for gold, 22 for silver and 19 for bronze.

Name Q1Q2Q3Q4Q5Q6TotalMedal
Agnijo Banerjee 7 0 7 7 7 028Silver Medal
Sam Bealing 7 0 0 7 7 021Bronze Medal
Benedict Randall Shaw 0 0 0 7 4 011Honourable Mention
Alexander Song 7 0 0 5 1 013Honourable Mention
Naomi Wei 7 0 0 2 0 0 9Honourable Mention
Harvey Yau 7 0 7 7 7 028Silver Medal

(12 February 2018)

The seventh European Girls’ Mathematical Olympiad will be held in Florence, Italy, 9–15 April. The UK team will be:

Emily BeattyKing Edward VII School, Sheffield
Melissa QuailLongsands Academy
Alevtina StudenikinaCheltenham Ladies’ College
Naomi WeiCity of London School for Girls

The reserve is Yuhka Machino of Millfield School. The Team Leader is Jo Caisová of Mayfield Primary School, Cambridge and the Deputy Leader is Jenny Owladi of the Bank of England.

Our thanks to Man Group for their support of the EGMO team.

(5 February 2018)

BMO Round 2 was marked in London on 3 February. The following candidates scored 25 or more out of 40.

Agnijo Banerjee40
Nathan Creighton40
Harvey Yau40
Yuji Okitani35
Luke Barratt33
Mervyn Tong31
George Mears30
Melissa Quail30
Alevtina Studenikina30
Naomi Wei30
Sam Bealing29
Thomas Hillman29
Giles Shaw29
Rubaiyat Khondaker27
James Morris27
Alexander Song27
Bruce Xu27
Emily Beatty26
Alex Darby26
Brian Davies26
Aron Thomas26
Daniel Yue26
Shavindra Jayasekera25
Zherui Xu25

(26 January 2018)

This year’s BMO Round 2 paper was taken yesterday.

(5 January 2018)

The UK will compete in the Romanian Master of Mathematics competition in 2018, to be held in Bucharest, 21–26 February. The Team Leader will be Alexander Betts (King’s College London) and the Deputy Leader will be James Gazet (St. Paul’s School); Mary Teresa Fyfe (formerly of Hutchesons’ Grammar School) will be Observer with Contestants. The following students will represent the UK (the four students who form part of the team competition will be determined after BMO2):

Agnijo BanerjeeGrove Academy, Dundee
Sam BealingBridgewater High School, Warrington
Benedict Randall ShawWestminster School
Alexander SongWestminster School
Naomi WeiCity of London School for Girls
Harvey YauYsgol Dyffryn Taf, Carmarthenshire

(3 January 2018, report added 4 January 2018, New Zealand results added 19 January 2018)

BMO Round 1 was marked in Cambridge on 8–10 December. (Some candidates from other countries also sat the paper, with their scripts being marked using the same mark schemes, and high scores from those countries are also indicated below when available.) The following candidates scored 58 or more out of 60. Gold medals are awarded for scores of 59 or more, silver medals for scores of 50 to 58, bronze medals for scores of 42 to 49, certificates of distinction for scores of 28 and above. The report for schools, with statistics on results, is also available.

The BMO2 qualifying cut-off scores are 47 for students in year 13 (England and Wales), year S6 (Scotland), year 14 (Northern Ireland); 42 for students in year 12 (England and Wales), year S5 (Scotland), year 13 (Northern Ireland); 37 for students in year 11 (England and Wales), year S4 (Scotland), year 12 (Northern Ireland); and 35 for students in lower school years. Scoring at least the cut-off on BMO1 gives free entry to BMO2 provided that the candidate is eligible to represent the UK at the IMO. Any participant in BMO1 may enter BMO2 by paying the entry fee. BMO2 will take place on 25 January.

Agnijo Banerjee60
Emily Beatty60
Andrew Chen (NZ)60
Gabriele Corso60
Nathan Creighton60
Leran Dai60
Alex Darby60
Liam Hill60
Thomas Hillman60
Matthew Jolly60
Benedict Randall Shaw60
Amelia Rout60
Yuriy Tumarkin60
Tommy Walker Mackay60
Patrick Winter60
Bruce Xu60
Harvey Yau60
Boon Han (Nathaniel) Ang59
Giles Shaw59
Aron Thomas59
Thien Udomsrirungruang59
Luke Barratt58
Naomi Bazlov58
Pino Cholsaipant58
Louisa Cullen58
Thomas Finn58
Melissa Quail58
James Sun58
Mervyn Tong58

(19 December 2017)

Video of Vicky Neale’s IMO lecture at the Science Museum is now available.

(2 December 2017)

This year’s BMO Round 1 paper was taken yesterday; video solutions are available online. Production facilities for the video were donated by the University of Bath Audio Visual Unit.

(2 November 2017)

The following participants in the UK Mathematical Olympiad for Girls (UK MOG) scored 40 or more out of 50 and have been awarded book prizes.

Connie Bambridge-Sutton50
Emily Beatty50
Louisa Cullen50
Hannah Erlebach50
Naomi Hope50
Yuhka Machino50
Sophie McInerney50
Melissa Quail50
Andrea Sendula50
Emma Sun50
Naomi Wei50
Naomi Bazlov49
Rose Blyth49
Sarah Gleghorn49
Alevtina Studenikina49
Katherine Horton47
Florence Miller46
Kira Dhariwal44
Lauren Weaver44
Kira Miller43
Amelia Rout43
Ella de Csillery42
Suzie Huang42
Milly Cohen41
Noam Eyal41
Tilly Joyce41
Sejal Patel41
Selina Wang41
Alice Horrell40
Soumya Krishna Kumar40
Melissa Yao40

(28 October 2017)

The markers’ report for the 2017 UK Mathematical Olympiad for Girls paper is now available, including extended discussions of the problems and the approaches taken by candidates.

(6 October 2017)

The UK Mathematical Olympiad for Girls (UK MOG) paper was taken yesterday. Solutions are also available. The paper will be marked on the weekend of 14–15 October.

(8 August 2017)

The reports on past IMOs now include Geoff Smith’s report on IMO 2017.

Our thanks to this year’s IMO supporter, Oxford Asset Management.

(25 July 2017)

A press release about the UK performance at IMO 2017 is now available.

Our thanks to this year’s IMO supporter, Oxford Asset Management.

(21 July 2017)

The IMO papers were sat on 18 and 19 July. The results of the UK team members are shown below. We obtained three Gold and two Bronze medals and an Honourable Mention and a score of 130 out of 252, coming equal 9th out of 111 participating countries. The medal boundaries were for 25 for Gold, 19 for Silver and 16 for Bronze.

Name Q1Q2Q3Q4Q5Q6TotalMedal
Joe Benton 7 7 5 7 1 229Gold Medal
Rosie Cates 7 1 0 7 0 318Bronze Medal
Jacob Coxon 7 3 0 7 0 017Bronze Medal
Neel Nanda 7 4 0 7 0 725Gold Medal
Alexander Song 7 1 0 7 0 015Honourable Mention
Harvey Yau 7 1 0 7 7 426Gold Medal

The achievements of this year’s UK olympiad teams will be celebrated at the Science Museum on Monday 25 September, when Professor Ursula Martin CBE will give the 40th annual IMO lecture.

Our thanks to this year’s IMO supporter, Oxford Asset Management.