British Mathematical Olympiad

News: IMO team selected (31 May 2006)

After the training camp held at Oundle School from 27–31 May 2006, the team of six for the IMO (to be held in Ljubljana, Slovenia from 6–18 July) has been chosen as:

Tom EcclesSt. Paul’s School, London
Saul GlasmanThe Latymer School, Edmonton, London
Jonathan LeeLoughborough Grammar School
Daniel LightwingYork College
Jack ShottonPortsmouth Grammar School
Lee ZhaoNottingham High School

The two reserves are:

Jos GibbonsKing Edward VI Camp Hill Boys’ School
Imdad SardharwallaKing Edward VI Grammar School, Chelmsford

The IMO Team Leader is Dr Geoff Smith of the University of Bath, the Deputy Leader is Dr Ceri Fiddes of Millfield School and the Observer with Leader is Dr Joseph Myers of CodeSourcery.

The team leave the UK for pre-IMO training on 1 July, travel to Ljubljana on 10 July and return to the UK on 19 July.

Previous news item: Balkan Mathematical Olympiad detailed results (4 May 2006).

Next news item: IMO team in Ljubljana (10 July 2006).