British Mathematical Olympiad

News: IMO team selected (30 May 2007)

After the training camp held at Oundle School from 26–30 May 2007, the team of six for the IMO (to be held in Hanoi, Vietnam from 19–31 July) has been chosen as:

Tim HennockChrist’s Hospital
Tom LoveringBristol Grammar School
Takaki OshimaWestminster School, London
Jack ShottonPortsmouth Grammar School
Dominic YeoSt. Paul’s School, London
Alison ZhuSimon Langton Girls GS, Canterbury

The three reserves are:

Jonathan LeeLoughborough Grammar School
Preeyan ParmarEton College
Julia RobsonPerse School for Girls

The IMO Team Leader is Dr Geoff Smith of the University of Bath, the Deputy Leader is Dr Ceri Fiddes of Stowe School, the Observer with Leader is Dr Joseph Myers of CodeSourcery and the Observer with Contestants is Pam Hunt.

The team leave the UK for pre-IMO training on 8 July, travel to Hanoi on 23 July and return to the UK on 1 August.

Previous news item: Balkan Mathematical Olympiad results (30 April 2007).

Next news item: IMO Day 1 (25 July 2007).