British Mathematical Olympiad

News: Romanian Masters of Mathematics 2009 team (8 February 2009)

The UK will compete again in the Romanian Masters of Mathematics competition in 2009, to be held from 26 February to 2 March. The Team Leader will be Dr Adrian Sanders (formerly of Trinity College, Cambridge) and the Deputy Leader will be Mrs Sally Anne Huk (formerly of Haberdashers’ Aske’s School for Girls). This year teams of up to six students from each country sit one five-hour paper with four IMO-standard questions, with the top three scores from each country determining the result of the team competition. The UK team of six will be:

Luke BettsHills Road Sixth Form College, Cambridge
Nathan BrownKing Edward VI Camp Hill School for Boys, Birmingham
Tim HennockChrist’s Hospital, Horsham
Andrew HyerWestminster School, London
Peter LeachMonkton Combe School, Bath
Craig NewboldWhitley Bay High School

The United Kingdom are reigning champions. The involvement of the UK team in this competition is sponsored by Winton Capital Management.

Previous news item: BMO Round 2 (29 January 2009).

Next news item: BMO Round 2 marked (8 February 2009).