British Mathematical Olympiad

News: IMO team selected (2 June 2010, staff updated 4 June 2010)

After the training camp held at Oundle School from 29 May–2 June, the team of six for the IMO (to be held in Astana, Kazakhstan from 2–14 July) has been chosen as:

Luke BettsHills Road VI Form College
Nathan BrownKing Edward VI Camp Hill Boys’ School
Andrew CarlottiSir Roger Manwood’s School
Richard FreelandWinchester College
Sergei PatiakinDame Alice Owen’s School
Aled WalkerKing Edward VI Camp Hill Boys’ School

The two reserves are:

Andrew HyerWestminster School
Jordan MillarRegent House School

The Team Leader is Dr Geoff Smith of the University of Bath, the Deputy Leader is Dr James Cranch of the University of Leicester and the Observer with Leader is Dr Joseph Myers of CodeSourcery. Dr Ceri Fiddes of Millfield School will be Observer with Contestants while Jacqui Lewis of St. Julian’s International School, Carcavelos, Portugal will accompany the team at the pre-IMO training in Astana.

Previous news item: Romanian Master in Mathematics 2010 report available (22 May 2010).

Next news item: Mathematics Ashes results (4 July 2010).