British Mathematical Olympiad

News: IMO squad selected (18 April 2011)

After the training camp held at Trinity College, Cambridge from 14–18 April, the squad of eight from which the team of six and two reserves for the IMO in Amsterdam, the Netherlands will be selected has been chosen as:

James AaronsonSt Paul’s School
Andrew CarlottiSir Roger Manwood’s School
Ben ElliottGodalming College
Richard FreelandWinchester College
Adam GoucherNetherthorpe School
Edward KirkbyAlton College
Joshua LamThe Leys School
Jordan MillarRegent House School

The Team Leader is Dr James Cranch of the University of Leicester and the Deputy Leader is Jack Shotton of Trinity College, Cambridge. Dr Geoff Smith of the University of Bath, elected member of the IMO Advisory Board, will be Observer with Leader. The IMO will take place from 13–24 July, with early arrivals for leaders on 12 July. The final team will be selected at the Oundle training camp held 28 May–1 June, and joint pre-IMO training with the Australian IMO team will take place at Trinity College, Cambridge from 9–16 July.

Previous news item: “Beautiful Young Minds” to be rebroadcast (30 March 2011).

Next news item: RMM 2011 student report (26 April 2011).