British Mathematical Olympiad

News: IMO team selected (1 June 2011)

After the training camp held at Oundle School from 28 May–1 June, the team of six for the IMO in Amsterdam has been chosen as:

James AaronsonSt Paul’s School
Andrew CarlottiSir Roger Manwood’s School
Ben ElliottGodalming College
Adam GoucherNetherthorpe School
Joshua LamThe Leys School
Jordan MillarRegent House School

The two reserves are:

Richard Freeland (first reserve)Winchester College
Edward KirkbyAlton College

The Team Leader is Dr James Cranch of the University of Leicester and the Deputy Leader is Jack Shotton of Trinity College, Cambridge. Dr Geoff Smith of the University of Bath, elected member of the IMO Advisory Board, will be Observer with Leader and Sally Anne Huk (formerly of Haberdashers’ Aske’s School for Girls) will be Observer with Contestants. The IMO will take place from 13–24 July, with early arrivals for leaders on 12 July. Joint pre-IMO training with the Australian IMO team will take place at Trinity College, Cambridge from 9–16 July.

Previous news item: Balkan Mathematical Olympiad report available (12 May 2011).

Next news item: UK Mathematical Olympiad for Girls (24 June 2011).