British Mathematical Olympiad

News: IMO team selected (31 May 2017)

After the training camp held at Tonbridge School, 27–31 May, the team of six for the IMO in Brazil has been chosen as:

Joe BentonSt Paul’s School
Rosie CatesHills Road VI Form College
Jacob CoxonMagdalen College School
Neel NandaLatymer School
Alexander SongWestminster School
Harvey YauYsgol Dyffryn Taf

The reserves are:

Sam Bealing (first reserve)Bridgewater High School
Michael NgAylesbury Grammar School
Thomas ReadThe Perse School
Naomi WeiCity of London Girls’ School

The Team Leader is Dr Geoff Smith of the University of Bath and the Deputy Leader is Dominic Yeo of the Technion. Jill Parker (formerly of the University of Bath) will be Observer with Contestants. The IMO will take place from 12–23 July.

Our thanks to this year’s IMO supporter, Oxford Asset Management.

Previous news item: Balkan Mathematical Olympiad report available (19 May 2017).

Next news item: Mathematics Ashes results (16 July 2017).