British Mathematical Olympiad

News: IMO team selected (28 May 2008)

After the training camp held at Oundle School from 24–28 May 2008, the team of six for the IMO (to be held in Madrid, Spain from 10–22 July) has been chosen as:

Tim HennockChrist’s Hospital
Peter LeachMonkton Combe School
Tom LoveringBristol Grammar School
Freddie MannersWinchester College, Hampshire
Dominic YeoSt. Paul’s School, London
Alison ZhuSimon Langton Girls GS, Canterbury

The three reserves are:

Jonathan LeeLoughborough Grammar School
Craig NewboldWhitley Bay High School
Preeyan ParmarEton College

The Team Leader is Dr Geoff Smith of the University of Bath, the Deputy Leader is Dr Ceri Fiddes of Stowe School, the Observer with Deputy is Dr Vesna Kadelburg of Sevenoaks School and the Observer with Contestants is Jacqui Lewis of St. Julian’s International School, Carcavelos, Portugal.

Previous news item: Balkan Mathematical Olympiad photographs (16 May 2008).

Next news item: Mathematical Ashes results (14 July 2008).